Home » Uncategorized » So, about the resounding silence…

So, about the resounding silence…

I’m still not sure about this blog. I keep being tempted to just fold all things theological into my main blog over on Blogspot, Back of the House. On the other hand, I also like having a kind of sacred space, online. Time will tell.

In spiritual news, I am headed off next week to spend 5 days in retreat with the Order of Julian, an Episcopalian contemplative order which honors Julian of Norwich. It feels a little odd, going outside of my tradition. But it also feels right. Maybe the differences will force me to pay closer attention to what’s going on around me.

I am excited and frightened out of my mind. As a control freak, it’s awfully disturbing to just Be Still and Listen. What if G-d says something I don’t want to hear? But here I go, and, as Julian wrote, “All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well.”

Please pray for me.

2 thoughts on “So, about the resounding silence…

  1. All shall be well. Julian was Catholic; this is just a visit to the house next door, you’re still in the same neighborhood. And remember, if Godde says something you don’t want to hear, you are allowed to wrestle with the angel, because that will help it all make better sense.

Leave a Reply

